European Network on Social Ontology (ENSO)


Recent works by philosophers such as John Searle, Raimo Tuomela, and Margaret Gilbert, among many others, have spurred a renewed interest in the ontology of collectives. Without doubt, social ontology has become one of the most vibrant topics in current philosophical research, and it attracts increasing attention from young philosophers working in various philosophical sub-disciplines and traditions.

The European Network on Social ontology (ENSO) aims at providing a platform for discussion and exchange among young philosophers working in that field, as well as to initiate and to coordinate future research activities on the European level.

ENSO was founded in 2007 by David P. Schweikard (University of Cologne, Germany), Frank A. Hindriks (University of Groningen, Netherlands) and Hans Bernhard Schmid (University of Basel, Switzerland).

Current members are (in alphabetical order):

Albert, Gert, Universität Heidelberg, Germany (Homepage)

Bertram, Georg, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany (Homepage)

Binder, Werner, Universität Konstanz, Germany  (Email)

Borghi, Anna, ISTC-CNR & University of Bologna, Italy (Homepage)

Carassa, Antonella, University of Lugano, Switzerland (Email)

Castelfranchi, Cristiano, ISTC-CNR, Italy (Hompage)

Celikates, Robin, University of Frankfurt, Germany (Homepage)

Colombetti, Marco, Politecnico di Milano, Italy (Email)

De Vecchi, Francesca, Università Vita-Salute San Raffaele (Milano), Italy (Email)  

Di Lorenzo Ajello, Francesca, Università degli Studi di Palermo, Italy (Homepage)

Disley, Liz, Bilkent University, Turkey (Email)

Fadda, Emanuele, Unversity of Catania, Italy (Email)

Feis, Gugliemo, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy (Homepage) (Email)

Ferrario, Roberta, Institute for Cognitive Sciences and Technologies, Povo (Trento), Italy (Homepage)

Ferraris, Maurizio, Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy (Homepage)

Gangemi, Aldo, IST, National Research Council, ISTC-CNR, Rome, Italy (Homepage)

Giovagnoli, Raffaela, University of Rome, Italy (Email)

Givigliano, Alfredo, University of Calabria, Italy  (Email)

Gloor, Juliette, CIPP, University of Basel, Switzerland (Homepage)

Gold, Natalie, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom (Homepage)

Gouvea, Rodrigo, University of Leipzig, Germany  (Email)

Hakli, Raul, University of Helsinki, Finland (Homepage)

Hamannisch, Falk, University of Leipzig, Germany (Email)

Hauswald, Rico, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Germany (Homepage)

Henning, Christoph, Universität St. Gallen, Switzerland (Email) 

Herzig, Andreas, IRIT, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France (Homepage)

Hess, Kendy, College of the Holy Cross, Worcester, Mass. , USA  (Email)

Hindriks, Frank, University of Groningen, Netherlands (Homepage)

Ikäheimo, Heikki, Macquarie University, Sidney, Australia (Homepage)

Jansen, Ludger, University of Rostock, Germany (Homepage)

Junge, Kay, Universität Konstanz, Germany (Email)

Kaldis, Byron, The Hellenic Open University, Greece (Homepage) (Email)

Kobow, Beatrice, Universität Konstanz, Germany (Homepage)

Konzelmann Ziv, Anita, CIPP, University of Basel, Switzerland (Homepage)

Laitinen, Arto, University of Jyväskylä, Finland (Homepage1/Homepage2)

Livet, Pierre, Université de Provence, France (Homepage) (Email)

Lohse, Simon, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany (Email)

Lorini, Emiliano, IRIT, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France (Homepage)

Mäkelä, Pekka, University of Helsinki, Finland (Homepage)

Mc Carthy, David, University of Edinburgh, UK (Homepage)

Moll, Henrike, Max Planck Institute, Leipzig, Germany (Homepage)

Morin, Olivier, Institut Jean Nicod, Paris, France (Email)

Nef, Frederic, EHESS, France (Homepage) (Email)

Pezzulo, Giovanni, ISTC-CNR & ILC-CNR, Italy (Hompage)

Philippi, Martina, University of Leipzig, Germany (Email)

Psarros, Nikos, University of Leipzig, Germany (Homepage)(Email)

Rainey, Stephen, Aporo Irish Philosophical Research Network, Ireland (Email)

Rakoczy, Hannes, Max-Planck-Institute, Leipzig, Germany (Homepage)

Rosciglione, Clauda, Università degli Studi di Palermo, Italy (Email)

Roversi, Corrado, Università di Bologna, Italy (Homepage)

Saaristo, Antti, Helsinki School of Economics, Finland

Salice, Alessandro, University of Basel, Switzerland (Email)

Schmid, Hans Bernhard, University of Basel, Switzerland (Homepage)

Schmid, Ulla, Universität Basel, Switzerland (Email)

Schmitz, Michael, Universität Konstanz, Germany (Homepage)

Schweikard, David, University of Münster, Germany (Homepage)

Seddone, Guido, University of Leipzig, Germany (Email)

Miller, Seumas, Australian National University, Australia (Homepage)

Smith, Thomas, University of Manchester, United Kingdom (Homepage)

Stahl, Titus, University of Frankfurt, Germany (Homepage)

Stancati, Claudia, University of Calabria, Italy (Email)

Szanto, Thomas, University of Vienna, Austria (Homepage) (Email)

Tagliafico, Daniela, Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy (Homepage)

Testa, Italo, Università degli Studi di Parma, Italy (Email

Tummolini, Luca, CRS Roma, Italy (Homepage)

Tuomela, Raimo, University of Helsinki (Homepage)

Vaselli, Stefano, Università di Roma La Sapienza, Italy (Email)

Vicari, Giuseppe, Università degli Studi di Palermo, Italy (Email)

Wedman, Trevor, University of Konstanz, Germany

Wierzchoslawski, Rafal Pawel, University of Lublin, Poland (Homepage) (Email)

Zanet, Giancarlo, Università degli Studi di Palermo, Italy (Email)


ENSO Inaugural Conference, October 16-17th, 2009:

ENSO Inaugural Meeting, University of Constance, 16-17 October 2009